Travel support for American and Japanese participants of the JKASP Workshop

We are pleased to announce a scholarship opportunity for US and Japanese scientists to participate in the 10th Biennial Workshop on Japan-Kamchatka-Alaska Subduction Processes (JKASP) to be held in Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Russia, August 20-26, 2018. This opportunity has been made possible through funding from the Deep Carbon Observatory DECADE project and the Lounsbery Foundation and aims to promote international research among American, Russian and Japanese partners on subduction processes.

Applicants should submit a one paragraph (300 word maximum) description of how they will benefit from attending the meeting, how their research will advance understanding of subduction processes in the United States, Russia or Japan, and how their participation will foster international collaboration.

Applicants should also include their full name, email address, physical address (including country of residence) and phone number, institute and department name, position, a budget of their travel expenses to attend the JKASP meeting, and the amount of support requested from DCO-DECADE.

Applications should be emailed to the evaluation committee (names and emails listed below) by 7 May 2018. Successful applicants will be notified by 25 May.

Tobias Fischer (fischer@unm.edu, Chair of Evaluation Committee)

Pavel Izbekov (peizbekov@alaska.edu)

Taryn Lopez (tmlopez@alaska.edu)

John Eichelberger (jceichelberger@alaska.edu)

Evgenii Gordeev (gordeev@kscnet.ru)

Hiroaki Takahashi (hiroaki@sci.hokudai.ac.jp)

Deadline
07 May 2018
Back to top